c4oa header mint

coin lingo

More
12 years 8 months ago - 12 years 8 months ago #3057 by maryelise8863
coin lingo was created by maryelise8863
Hi all! Since I'm a newbie, I'm not familiar with all the coin lingo I'm hearing and reading.

If you don't mind helping me out, I'm going to throw a few words/terms on here and ask you to 1. confirm that I understand them correctly and/or 2. to tell me what they mean.

Please feel free to add anything and everything you think I should know. Including a reference book that I should look at.

Thanks so much!

VAM: ?

DMPL: ?

What's a bag mark?

Mary Elise
Last edit: 12 years 8 months ago by maryelise8863.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
12 years 8 months ago #3058 by maryelise8863
Replied by maryelise8863 on topic Re:coin lingo
Got more...

What's BU? (I'm pretty sure it's not butt ugly. Sorry, I am my father's daughter, you know.) Or what does the B with a number mean?

And are there some key ways to tell a replica/copy/tribute from the real thing?

OK, forget just the terms and words. We're off into major question land now!

Would you bother buying a coin roll to see what's inside?

What does full rims mean?

My head hurts... :blink:

Mary Elise

More
12 years 8 months ago #3062 by Belayoff
Replied by Belayoff on topic Re:coin lingo
Maryelise,

I'm a long ways from expert level, but have learned a ton since joining the C4OA and working closely with Rusty Goe to assemble the Rian's Bequest Carson City Coin Collection. Allow me to apologize in advance for the rudimentary answers...hopefully they will at least point you in the right direction.

BU = Brilliant-Uncirculated. This is a very subjective term used along with others to describe the level of condition for an uncirculated coin. The term is from the days prior to modern day grading and certification but is still used by some dealers and numismatists even today to describe raw, ungraded coins. I'm not sure what B with a number means...sorry.