c4oa header mint

COIN CHEMISTRY, by Weimar W. White

More
14 years 7 months ago #473 by Brix
This book has been on sale at Southgate forEVVVer, but it may have flown under someone's redar. Though chiefly concerned with toning and coin care, the author makes numerous references to the CC mint and its coins. As a toning maven and total novice, I used to pester Rusty with questions about the toning process and about the miraculous state of preservation of some CC coins. Sensing his impatience with them, I pretty much shut up, but this book answers every question I stifled. It's a staple of my numismatic library.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
14 years 7 months ago #478 by coindrummer
Hi Brix

I also have a copy of "Coin Chemistry". I got it at last year's ANA show in Baltimore. My copy is signed by Weimer W. White himself. Weimar was one of the featured speakers at our annual C4OA meeting (July 31, 2008) held at the Baltimore convention center.

I agree with you, it's a fantastic book! There's really no other book that I know of which explains coin toning like this one does. Weimer is also a very good speaker.

I hope to see you at one of our future C4OA get-togethers. They're always a blast!

Michael the drummer

C4OA Lifer!

More
14 years 5 months ago #657 by Decline Don
I picked up my copy at Southgate Coins. I am Mr. White's number one fan. I will bring my copy to Boston in hopes that he will be able to make the C4OA Annual Meeting.

I seem to be in the minority, but I dislike toned coins. To me a toned coin is an alteration in the way the coin left the mint. I especially dislike toning caused by bad holders. I don't know why a collector should be "rewarded" for improperly storing his or her coins.

I am inconsistent,however,in that I have no objection to a properly cleaned coin--but that's another issue.

I would like to hear from the members what they think of toned coins.

Decline Don

More
14 years 5 months ago #660 by blu62vette